Jessie´s Blog

Archive for April 26th, 2011

Da Greco is an Italian restaurant located on Passeig de Gracia in Barcelona. If you are an American studying abroad in Barcelona you can not go to this restaurant without seeing at least 3 separate groups of people you know. It is a scene. It’s also the kind of restaurant that people love to bring their parents to when their parents visit.

Da Greco is a restaurant I have been to quite a few times since being abroad. Although it may not compare to food in actual Italy, it is great food at a great price.

My absolute favorite part about Da Greco is they let you taste everything that everyone orders. Once an order for a dish is placed, they make an extra plate of that dish to pass around for the rest of the people at the table. You really get to try and experience every food there. It’s really awesome because if you think you ordered the wrong thing there’s always more to try and to eat! Also, it helps you prepare for what you want the next time you go!

The last time I was there I got my absolute favorite dish: the white truffle tortellini. Although I normally don’t like mushrooms the dish doesn’t have a mushroom flavor at all. Instead it has a lot of cheese and is in a thick creamy sauce.

The best part about all the dishes is that they are extremely filling as well. It is impossible to leave this restaurant still hungry.

Another dish that I like to get is the gnocchi. It has a lot of garlic in it, which is my favorite!
All the food here is very rich and cooked to perfection. Another fun dish to try is the three pasta dish. They bring you 3 plates of different pastas from the menu without letting you know which ones you are going to get!

I’ve also never been disappointed by the service at Da Greco. Everyone is always friendly and helpful and they all speak enough English for me to communicate. The desserts that I have had are great too.

The other best thing about Da Greco is the prices. You get an extremely ridiculous amount of food and the average pasta entree is about 15 euro. It is definitely worth the trip and I highly recommend coming here!